SHE Program Cohorts

SHE specifically targets young women with an interest in science and medicine, who identify as underrepresented in the sciences (i.e., racial or ethnic minority, low-income, first-generation college-bound, and/or living with a disability). Applicants must be a current sophomore, junior or senior from a Kentucky high school.

SHE Student home counties

Below are the current and former program participants.


2024 Participants

Hadeel Felwa, Fayette County Susma Sah, Fayette County Tatiana Williams, Clark County
Sophia Tucker, Woodford County Kadara Skinner, Estill County Sofia Raab, Fayette County
Emma Warren, Barren County Ayesha Hamid, Fayette County Jenna Gibson, Magoffin County
Hanan Ahmed, Jefferson County Megan Sexton, East Carter County Jiwoo Kim, Madison County
Camari Parker, Elliott County Chloe Carrol, Fayette County Savannah Montgomery, Henry County
Amanda Marrow, Garrard County Helena Pearce, Fayette County Ida Cham, Jefferson County
Nebraska Plowman, Estill County Siya Patel, Madison County  

2023 Participants

Samiksha Acharya, Jefferson County Ivy Choi, Fayette County Agrani Kandlakunta, Fayette County
Lugain Abdelrahmar, Jefferson County Jaylei Davis, Union County Emily Lewis, Elliot County
Brianna Balazs, Fayette County Isabella Dunn, Magoffin County McKinnley Martin, Floyd County
Lindsay Bell, Clark County Evelyn Gallegos, Woodford County Cassandra Plymale, Lawrence County
Madelyn Blakey, Fayette County Tanisha Garg, Fayette County Alexandria Smith, Trigg County
Chezney Burton, Russell County Isabella Hammons, McCreary County Alivia Wild, Fleming County
Caylee Caudill, Johnson County Jamie Hestand, Trigg County  

2022 Participants

Alexandria Carroll, Garrard County Heavenly Mays, Carter County Makinna Caudill, Magoffin County
Amelia  Henderson, Carter County Jayalaxmi Murty, Fayette County Mattie Osborne, Barren County
Emily Halcomb, Letcher County Jillian Combs, Leslie  County Muhil Senthil, Fayette County
Eryka Criswell, Wayne County Kadi'ah  Malone, Jefferson County Shahad Khalid, Jefferson County
Gabrielle Hatfield, Casey County Leah Mays, Carter County Tessa Goble, Carter County
Grace Walton, Fayette County Lily Kremer, Nelson County  

2021 Participants

Rachel Collins, Clay County Avanti Sawardekar, Fayette County India McCormick, Jefferson County
Joyner Flore Jikang, Fayette County Anna-Kate Miedler, Fayette County Emmeri Roberts, Jefferson County
Camryn Moss, Jefferson County Sireesha Gutti, Fayette County Mahathi Sarapurapu, Fayette County
Sophie Agbekpenou, Fayette County Hillary Thompson, Fayette County Taylor Horsfall, Fayette County
Rikki Staniford, Lawrence County Kaylee Compton, Montgomery County Nicole Nunez, Fayette County
Whitley Ramey, Laurel County Toni Adedokun, Fayette County Natalie Polly, Fayette County
Tanisha Garg, Fayette County    
NCI Comprehensive Cancer Center - A Cancer Center Designated by the National Cancer Institute

Markey Cancer Center is designated by the National Cancer Institute as a Comprehensive Cancer Center – a distinction that recognizes our commitment to accelerating precision cancer research and care to patients. We are the first and only NCI-Comprehensive Cancer Center in Kentucky, and one of 57 in the nation.