University of Kentucky College of Public Health Holds Annual Hall of Fame Induction

Published 10-31-2011 7:59 AM | Mark D. Birdwhistell  


The University Of Kentucky College Of Public Health held their 8th annual Hall of Fame Induction on October 21st and I had the great privilege to be in the audience. Dr. Stephen Wyatt, DMD, MPH, and dean of the College of Public Health started by welcoming a large crowd of past and future Public Health colleagues.  

This year's Hall of Fame inductees included James Curtis Cecil, III, BA, DMD, MPH, FICD, FACD, my good friend and former Kentucky Secretary of the Cabinet for Health and Family Services James W. Holsinger, Jr., MD, PhD, former CEO and Chairman of Kaiser Foundation Health Plan and Hospitals David M. Lawrence, MD, MPH, Lillian H. South, MD, and Eula Jean Spears, RN, BSN, MSEd. Quite an impressive class!

Along with the Hall of Fame Induction, the College also recognized its new Doctor of Public Health (DrPH) students. I was definitely proud to see our very own Rob Edwards receive the famous "Pump Handle" (Click HERE to read one of my previous blogs about the history of the "Pump Handle") as an award for entering into the newest Dr.PH class. I'm sure he will find the program to be very rewarding and I wish him the best of luck.

Congratulations to all the Hall of Fame inductees and to the New DrPH class!

Page last updated: 1/30/2015 2:46:43 PM