Bookmark and Share

Nurse Named to Prestigious Academy

Media Contact: Melissa Hounshell, 859-323-6363, x256 

LEXINGTON, Ky. (September 24, 2008) - University of Kentucky Chandler Hospital operations manager for Emergency and Trauma Services, Patricia Kunz Howard, was named as a 2008 inductee to the Academy of Emergency Nursing (AEN) by the Emergency Nurses Association (ENA). AEN fellowship is a prestigious honor recognizing emergency nurses for their contributions to patient care in and out of the emergency department.

"Patricia Howard has exhibited the kind of leadership and excellence in patient care that exemplifies the very best of emergency nursing," said Denise King, president of the Emergency Nurses Association. "Her service to her patients, the profession of nursing and the Emergency Nurses Association has been spectacular and it is an honor to have her as a fellow of the academy."

The Academy of Emergency Nursing was constituted on September 28, 2004 to honor nurses who have made specific, enduring, substantial and sustained contributions to the field of emergency nursing; who advance the profession of emergency nursing, including the health care system in which emergency nursing is delivered; and who provide visionary leadership to ENA.

"I am extremely honored to receive this recognition. Thousands of nurses spend their lives caring for patients and diligently serving in the health care field. I am pleased to be recognized among others who have played such a significant role," said Howard.

Howard first came to UK Chandler Hospital as a staff/charge nurse in medical-surgical ICU in February 1980. Since then she has held numerous positions at UK including research protocol clinical manager at the College of Nursing, staff development specialist/nurse researcher, and most recently, operations manager for emergency and trauma services. Howard holds degrees from Salem College in Salem, West Virginia, and the University of Kentucky. She received her Ph.D. from UK in May 2004.

Howard, along with seven other inductees, will be officially named to the academy at a ceremony taking place Friday, September 26, as part of the ENA 2008 Annual Conference in Minneapolis, MN.


Page last updated: 11/19/2013 4:40:54 PM