Bookmark and Share

Markey Research Day Poster Winners Announced

Media Contact: Keith Hautala 

LEXINGTON, Ky. (May 6, 2010) − Award winners have been announced for the 2010 Markey Cancer Center Research Day poster presentations. There were 95 posters this year – a record number for the event – which were judged by nearly 50 faculty members affiliated with the Markey Cancer Center.

Abstracts were submitted in two categories: Basic Science and Clinical/Translational research. First- and second-place prizes were awarded to post-doctoral fellows and graduate students in each category. First-place winners received $200, and second-place winners received $100.

In the Basic Science category, first-place winners were post-doctoral fellow Lakshman Chelvarajan ("Src kinase activity promotes B lymphoma growth and survival") and graduate student Marie Wehenkel ("Target validation of the LMP2 inhibitor"). Second-place winners were post-doctoral fellow Yanming Zhao ("The SAC domain of Par-4 inhibits non-autochthonous/metastatic tumors") and graduate student Janice Ortega ("PCNA phosphorylation at tyrosine211 inhibits mismatch repair at the initiation step").

In the Clinical/Translational category, first-place winners were post-doctoral fellow Ashley Newland ("Incidence of invasive fungal infections by urban versus rural population in patients undergoing treatment for high risk hematologic malignancies") and graduate student Gwendolyn Rinker ("Factors associated with intention to test for residential radon among Kentucky homeowners"). Second-place winners were post-doctoral fellow Salvatore Michael Bottiglieri ("Effective blood pressure control in patients receiving angiogenesis inhibitors in an outpatient cancer center") and graduate student Joe Legrew ("Acute hematologic consequences of high-dose I-131 therapy for aggressive thyroid carcinoma").

Page last updated: 11/19/2013 5:13:27 PM